That time of year…

sandals on shelfSo, there’s my trusty Teva sandals, sitting on a shelf.  Retired for the year. Because this week, I took to wearing shoes, for the first time in four months. It’s that time of year, you see.  Not cold, nothing like that, not yet – but just so that wearing sandals while biking to work in the morning is not really good.   And when it rains, *sigh* – cold and wet.

There’s other signs.  Packing a (light) raincoat when going to work.  No more dinners on the terrace.  And the trees, of course.  Much as I’d like to pretends it’s not so, the colours are plain to see.  Fall colours are showing up all around my lovely, green part of town.  Not the big spectacle of lovely autumn leaves, not yet, but that will come soon enough.   And the bright summer evenings, those are all gone by now.

fall tree 2I get a little sad this time of year.  I don’t want to hassle with shoes, and sock, and extra shirts.  I want to be able to have my morning coffee outside. I don’t want to spend the extra time getting kids dressed in  the morning.  But that’s how it’s going to be for the next eight months.

But then – don’t forget. Soup season. Soon it’ll be time to get out all the recipes for winter foods. And we’ll have snow, go skiing, and enjoy the spectacle of the landscape in autumn dress and winter light.   I like the cycle – but right now I’m mostly sad about putting those sandals away.

Leave a Reply

