Bob Casale, 1952-2014

It’s been a week, and I should have posted earlier, etc. etc. But…

Bob Casale, guitarist, keyboard player, and founding member of Devo, died last week. Bob2 (as he was known) was key to the unique sound of Devo, in his role as both musician and sound engineer on all the original Devo albums. 

I guess I have to get used to the idea that even members of bands I think of as “from my time” are falling away, and not just those who fall to drugs and accidents and so on. Still, this is a bit of a shock. Devo, who dared to show up smack in the middle of the post-punk area, with a sound that was part pop, part complex rock, and with sarcastic lyrics and a style that mocked everone, made an impression on me that extended far beyond that albums themselves.

At least for me, Devo is one of these “before-and-after” bands – they changed the way I listen to a lot of stuff. They inform the way I hear so much of what has happened in the past 30 years.

RIP

Leave a Reply

